Culture Main Page

Measures taken by Germany to prevent the spread of COVID-19

Berlin was the first city in Germany where the authorities closed all public cultural and educational institutions. Other federal states are planning to implement similar measures shortly. Public events are being cancelled all over the country, and the authorities are recommending people to avoid travelling to Italy and, at the same time, travel by tourist buses is prohibited.

From now on, it is planned to close all institutions, except grocery stores, gas stations, banks, savings banks and post offices.

The authorities have banned citizens of EU member states from entering Germany within 30 days and closed the state border for foreigners from France, Austria, Switzerland, Luxembourg and Denmark, and passengers from China, South Korea, Japan, Iran and Italy are obliged to fill out a special declaration.

Currently, such countries have imposed restrictions on entry from Germany: USA, Czech Republic, Turkey, Denmark, Cyprus, Israel, China, Russia, India, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Bhutan, Nepal, El Salvador, Maldives, Uganda, Liberia, Kiribati, Marshall Islands and Samoa.
The Polish authorities have closed the German-Polish border to foreigners, and Polish citizens entering from Germany are sent for medical examinations.